My Version of Nicoise Salad

It’s the first day of my 4 Hour Body diet by Tim Ferris and I’ve decided to test a few recipes so that I can choose our favorites. It’s not simple as I’m a big foodie and I love to eat. To make things more interesting, I have a sweet tooth and this diet hardly has any sweet options available. I’m so looking forward to cheat day! So while doing some research online, I came across this salad. It looked so good. So here is my version of this French classic salad minus the potatoes of course!

Image

Ingredients:

1 Can of Tuna In Water (Drained)

1 Hard Boiled Egg

1/2 Cucumber

1/4 Cup Olives

2-3 Baby Tomatoes

1/2 Cup Green Beans

Few Salad Leaves

Dressing:

1 Garlic Clove (Minced)

2 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 Tbsp Lemon Juice

1 Tsp Dijon Mustard

1 Tsp Minced Fresh Basil

Salt and Pepper to taste

Instructions:

1. Whisk all the ingredients for the dressing together in a bowl and set aside.

2. Slice the cucumber, halve the green beans and cut the baby tomato in quarters.

3. Put some water to boil in a saucepan. In the meantime fill a bowl with water and add ice cubes to make an ice bath for the green beans. Once the water is boiling, add the green beans and cook for a few minutes. Be careful not to overdo it as you want them to stay crunchy. You can test it by tasting one. Once done, transfer them to the ice bath. Let the green beans cool down and then drain the water.

4. To serve the salad, arrange all the ingredients nicely on a plate. An oval plate is usually nicer, I put mine on a round plate as it was just me. Whisk the dressing again and drizzle over the salad and serve.

Tip: I have used canned tuna for this salad, but feel free to use fresh tuna that had been seared or better still how about some salmon! This salad will keep in the fridge for a couple of days as long as you haven’t put the dressing on it.

Leave a Reply

