Smoked Marlin Salad

Today I was feeling a bit lazy to cook. I just came back last week from Mauritius, where I was born and brought up. I brought back some smoked marlin with me, which happens to be one of my favorites. So I made a salad with it and whatever was in the fridge. The end result was very delicious and I managed to finish it all by myself! Now I’ve used corn, which is not recommended for the diet unless it’s a small portion of it so be mindful when making your salad not to go overboard with it and I suggest having corn for just 1 or 2 meals max during a week.

Image

Ingredients:

150g Smoked Marlin

1/4 Cup Cooked Corn Kernels

1/2 Cucumber

4-5 Baby Tomatoes

1/4 Cup Olives (Pitted)

2-3 Cabbage Leaves

1/2 Lettuce

Lemon slice for garnish

Salt and Pepper

1 tbsp olive oil

Juice of 1 lemon

1 tsp Light Soya Sauce (optional)

Dash of Tabasco (optional)

Instructions:

1. Slice the cucumber thinly and cut the baby tomatoes into quarters

2.  Separate the lettuce leaves into smaller pieces and shred the cabbage leaves

3. To prepare the dressing, mix olive oil, lemon juice, soya sauce and tabasco if used in a bowl. Season with salt and pepper to taste. I usually use about 1/2 teaspoon of each.

4. To serve, arrange the ingredients, starting with the lettuce, followed by cabbage, corn, cucumber, olives and baby tomatoes. Top it with the smoked marlin. Add the lemon slice as garnish and drizzle with the dressing. Your salad in now ready for serving

Tip: The secret to making this salad look pretty is to arrange the ingredients randomly. This salad will keep well in the refrigerator for few days, just add the dressing before serving otherwise it will become soggy. Another great way of storing it would be in layers in a mason jar to take to work.

Leave a Reply

